How do I delete a Windows account without losing data?

How do I delete a Windows account without losing data?

Go to Settings > Accounts > Your Info and click the link below your MS Account to Change to Local Account: Then sign in online to your Microsoft Account at to Manage it including changing email addresses, name, or to delete the account.

Will deleting my Microsoft account delete my files?

The only time that you will permanently lose all data, files, and subscriptions, is if you delete your Microsoft account entirely. But if it’s just a user account on your PC, don’t worry. All data saved in the cloud, as well as your subscriptions, are safe online.

What happens if you delete a user profile?

49 Replies. Yes you delete the Profile it will get any and all files associated with that user that are stored on the PC. Like you said documents, music and desktop files. Things that also will go by by, Internet Favorites, possibly outlook PST depending on where its stored.

What happens if I delete a user folder?

When you delete a user, it is that folder with their name on it (and all subfolders within it) that are deleted. Anything outside of that folder will not be deleted. Inside that folder is usually their “Documents” and “Music” and “Pictures” and other folders that are the default location for their data.

How do I delete a user file?

Go to the ProfileList folder, and then find ProfileImagePath. It should be listed as C:\Userssername, except replace “username” with the exact name of your user profile. Delete this file and any identical files you will find in other folders. Confirm that you want to delete these files from the Registry Editor.

How do I remove all Users from my computer?

Select Start > Settings > Accounts > Other users. Select the person’s name or email address, then select Remove. Read the disclosure and select Delete account and data. Note that this will not delete the person’s Microsoft account, but it will remove their sign-in info and account data from your PC.

What happens if I delete users folder?

What happens when you delete your Windows account?

Closing a Microsoft account means you won’t be able to use it to sign in to the Microsoft products and services you’ve been using. It also deletes all the services associated with it, including your: Account balance, unused Reward points and Microsoft Certification, including passed exams and associated transcripts.

How do I delete a user account in Windows 7 professional?

I am using Windows 7 Professional. Logon to your admin account. Then follow this…… Start button > in the search box, type user accounts > Enter > click Manage another account > click the account you want to delete > left side, click Delete this account > Choose Delete Files, or Keep Files > click Delete Account. Was this reply helpful?

How do I delete a user from my computer?

To delete a user, type user accounts in the search bar on the Start menu and click on “User Accounts” listed at the beginning of the list of results. Then, click the “Manage another account” link on the Make changes to your user account screen. On the “Choose the account you would like to change” screen, click the user account you want

What happens to my files when I delete an account?

If you selected to keep the files, they are moved out of the account before the account is deleted. You are returned to the Choose the account you would like to change screen and the account you deleted is gone. Click the “X” button in the upper-right corner of the window to close it.

How do I delete a Microsoft account in Windows 10?

In the right pane on the Accounts screen, scroll down to the Other users section where other user accounts are listed. Click on the account you want to delete. Notice that local accounts are labeled as such. Microsoft accounts will list the account name with the email address below it. Click “Remove”.

You Might Also Like